UK carbon fibre violin

October 12, 2010 at 12:33 AM ·

Hello everyone my name is Stephen, I am in the process of making a Carbon fibre violin. I am an Aerospace engineer and know all about carbon fibre but as I know little about violins I am being helped in this area by Peter Boardman peterboardmanviolinmaker.co.uk/
The making of the molds and construction of the violin should be easy for me but it will take a few prototypes to get the tonal values to Peters satifaction, once complete, as I work full time and this is a part time project I will only make a few to start.
I posted this on another forum and though it might be of interest. The prototype is finished now and there are a few vids some poor picture quality but it gives some idea of its so, there are 3 vids here
youtube.com/watch?v=KIwahwmkh-..._in_order

Replies (43)

October 12, 2010 at 01:54 PM ·

On Maestronet, I believe a gentleman by the name of Don Noon is also making carbon fiber violins.  He's an aerospace engineer and perhaps you guys can trade notes.   He sent out one recently.

UL

October 12, 2010 at 03:06 PM ·

Actually Don had one of my violins.  He is not a fan. :-)  I attempted to darken the tone and got it a little too dark and into the tubby range.  If you are on facebook  you can lookup Rochon Violins and see the pictures of my experiments.  I also have some audio and video up on youtube here: http://www.youtube.com/user/ReardonViolins.  Send me a private message if you want to.  Not sure how many outside links I can put in before getting in trouble.

By the way I am a vibration diagnostic engineer for large equipment, so I think we could benefit from sharing.

Stuart Rochon

October 12, 2010 at 11:35 PM ·

@ stephen

Good job Stephen, but I think you should paint the violin in a violin color and not black.

October 12, 2010 at 11:35 PM ·

October 12, 2010 at 11:43 PM ·