Improve technique can you do it?

September 30, 2010 at 03:28 PM ·

I'm a Classical Violinist, i learned starting with Suzuki, and then went on with a traditional teacher, at the age 12 i got a fiddle teacher that couldn't read music and I learned fiddling from her by ear and with fiddle tab. I started playing in fiddle groups and learned quickly how to improve on the violin. As of late i've been asked to play in a country band, and the improve for that music came naturally, soon after i was asked to play in a rock band and the improve was harder but still came with great results and much praise. I came to know a Viola player that has a masters degree in music, and was talking to him about how fiddling has helped me expand my playing field to groups as mentioned and he said that he cant improve. I was surprised to think that a man who has played viola for many years, with specific training, got a masters in music couldn't come to a jam session and improve, or make up a song. So i was curious if other classical players feel the same way?

Replies (33)

September 30, 2010 at 05:10 PM ·

Be careful coming to  traditional Irish music from classical.  There is no improvisation as we know it with jazz, and the word "jam" is never used in an Irish music context. The music, although apparently technically straightforward if you look at printed version, has in fact an immense amount of detail in the playing that is essentially unnotatable, and changes every time it is played.  It is dance music with roots in the Baroque, although it is folk Baroque rather than "classical" Baroque.