So many beginner violins, which one would be right for me?

September 15, 2010 at 05:50 PM ·

Hi guys! Hows everyone? This will be my first post ever on Violinist.com =) Nice to meet you all! I have a few questions concerning beginner violins because i just cant seem to decide on one! I have read i think most of the beginner violin discussions on here and from what i can tell, theres maybe a couple of main websites to purchase a violin from that everyone seems to mention, and those being are: Sharmusic, Violinslover, Southwest Strings, dont remember if there was another one.. But anywho, i cant seem to choose which of those would be my best bet! I am a beginner, i have no experience on the violin what so ever, i will probably be teaching myself till i am able to afford lessons. My budget is about $200 pushing it (broke college student hehe) so i would want a to last me a pretty long time (which i know for my budget might be hard) and yet a wonderful eye catcher =) I was thinking of getting one of Shars violins but then i visited Violinslover Genial 1's and i just cant decide now =( So whats everyones input? Anyone have any experience with any of their violins (or any others i dont know about) I have thought of renting, but i would like a violin i could call my own =) Thanks!

EDIT: By the way, whats the difference between 1 piece back and a 2 piece back? Which one is generally better for violins? Whats the difference between "Nitro" varnished and oil varnished on violinslover.com?

Replies (38)

September 15, 2010 at 08:40 PM ·