Baroque Violin Troubles

September 15, 2010 at 05:50 PM ·

Just thought I'd ask for advice here.  I've recently switched to baroque violin practice, ( on baroque violin)  I am finding it nearly impossible to get the response necessary to make a good sound. I have read that it is difficult to find a 'good'  new baroque violin, and I'm certainly hoping this is a major reason the violin sounds unpleasant. Playing the Bach sonatas and partitas seems equally impossible: I'm finding that my strings are not speaking while playing fast passages, so I can't clearly voice each 16th note in a run.  I studied hipp techniques in grad school, so I understand an extent of baroque technique.  What I'm finding is that it isn't just switching to a 'modified' instrument, but rather learning a completely different instrument altogether.  Does anyone have any advice on practice technique applied to the baroque violin?  things, like response, tonal clarity, etc...

Very much appreciated

Replies (21)

September 15, 2010 at 07:28 PM ·

There is some good advice in one of the past threads here on baroque playing for learning to sink into gut strings and get them sounding.  Another thing I'd try is tuning the instrument up or down to see how changes in string tension affect the issue--you may discover you want a different set of strings on the instrument.  Depending on the quality of the strings you may want to switch to a different brand.   Ideally you'd get some feedback on the instrument's set up from an experienced HIP player and luthier.

Same thing with the bow, a different hair tension from what you are used to may work best on this particular setup, or for that matter a different bow.

This is obvious but have you explored different contact points and different ways of holding the bow, and different (slower) bow speeds?