spiccato help needed

September 13, 2010 at 05:14 AM ·

I'm new to learning spiccato (a couple of months) and  still have trouble getting good tone on fingered notes (especially on the A string).  I always hear a 'chirp' instead of a solid note.  

Open strings ring nicely but no matter how much I try to adjust (sounding point, bow contact point, bow height from string, amount of movement in bow arm, finger flexibility), I just can't get rid of the chirp and it's driving me nuts.

Any suggestions???

Replies (24)

September 13, 2010 at 08:52 AM ·