Left-handed violinist/virtuoso

August 31, 2010 at 12:41 AM ·

Greetings,

I'm going to introduce this topic with my story.

Ever since I started playing the violin, I felt discouraged because I was left-handed and every orchestra and/or violinist I've seen was right-handed. This made me feel very discouraged because I was left-handed.

Regardless of how I felt, I had my violin converted for a left-handed beginner and I started practicing on my own (using the Internet to aid me). After a few weeks, I made very little progress, which made me want to quit; I stopped practicing for a few months (I've been playing since March). However, I didn't want to quit, I was encouraged by the beautiful sound that's produced from a violin; and my love of classical music gave me encouragement.

I finally decided to seek a teacher, but then the one important question appeared again; "how will I ever find a teacher that is capable of teaching left-handed players?" I thought it would be almost impossible because most people were right-handed players. How can I find a good teacher for me? This question is open to suggestions and/or discussion.

I, still to this day, feel very discouraged. I thought of having my violin converted back to right-hand (right-hand on the bow) because that's how most violinist are. I've been told on "Yahoo! Answers" that several violin virtuosos were left-handed yet they played right-handed violins and that I shouldn't feel any different. That being said, should I convert back to right-hand and start from the beginning?Does anyone recommend this, or have any other suggestions?