Has anybody else had a recital go wrong?

August 22, 2010 at 03:08 AM ·

Well, I just had my first violin recital last Monday and to say that it was a disaster would be an understatement.

I have a horrible time with nerves, which I suppose is pretty normal, but I just fell apart while playing my pieces. I've lost all motivation to practice ever since then: I'm finding it extremely hard to concentrate without having that recital play through my mind. It's also rather frustrating, having practiced so much for so long only to have it blow up in my face. 

Has anyone else ever had a bad recital or performance? Any suggestions on preventing nerves from really getting to you?

Replies

August 22, 2010 at 09:05 AM ·

Yes. Keep trying.

August 22, 2010 at 10:10 AM ·

I think you will have a much shorter topic if you ask: 'Has anyone had a recital go totally right'. 

One of the keys to performance anxiety (and I'm an expert in this now :-\ ) is recognizing that things ALWAYS go wrong.  Thats not the issue, the real one - and the one that differentiates the accomplished from the tyros is how you deal with it.  Listen carefully to any recital (no, not on a recording - most of those are doctored) and you will hear errors but the pros often dress them in such a way that unless you are anexpert of intimately familiar with the piece you don't even notice. 

Sometimes everything falls apart - for example I relaized two lines into my solo two weeks ago  that I had not tightened my bow hairs.  In situations like that you have to assess whether its possible to go on and if not just stop and start again.  [I think I handled it pretty well, as I started again I said 'and now the second movement' - the audience (which by the way is looking for you to succeed not fail) took the opportunity to laugh loudly and give me an encouraging ovation. 

I suspect the recital will be rembered more for the quip than the music - but rather that than for sloppy playing anyday...