Teaching yourself violin

August 2, 2010 at 01:05 AM ·

I am new to violin, and I need some help getting started! I have played piano my entire life, so I know a lot about music theory, so I'm hoping this will help in learning violin. I have a friend that used to teach violin, but no longer has time to teach, so I am left without a teacher! She is willing to help me on occassion when I need it, but I was wondering if anyone knows about a set of methods books or a DVD that is helpful in teaching yourself how to play. I saw several at a local music store, but I have no idea where to begin...Any suggestions?

Replies (44)

August 2, 2010 at 05:02 AM ·

You might try the Clayton Haslop 'Beginners' Circle' DVD (4 lessons) per month subscription.  Also, get a copy of Drew Lecher's book (for his exercises and tips), along with Simon Fischer's Basics (for a good and expansive reference work)...and maybe throw in the first book (and CD) of the Suzuki series to have a little more to practice all those basics on.  And explore violinmasterclass.com.  And get a big mirror, and a metronome that you keep on 40 a lot. 

Try to do everything everybody listed above says, and always be on the lookout for little tense places (in your shoulders, back, neck, arms, wrists, thumbs, fingers...) so that you can learn to relax them.  And breathe.

August 2, 2010 at 06:09 AM ·

i'm in the same boat - i found these on-line lessons to be very helpful:

http://www.toddehle.com/

... consensus will probably state that teaching yourself is fraught with difficulty but if it's the only avenue open, i say take it.

August 2, 2010 at 01:23 PM ·

Unless you're another Mozart ("but one doesn't need lessons to play 2nd violin, Papa!") I'd strongly advise you to get a live teacher. I see that you're from Memphis. Surely there are are other teachers in your town.

August 2, 2010 at 01:41 PM ·