A string that doesn't ring.

August 2, 2010 at 01:05 AM ·

Hello,

I'm a 19 year old student living in Prague.  I recently bought a violin after not having played since I was 13.  I didn't really remember how to play when I entered the store, so I was really at a loss as to what to buy.  Anyways, I picked out an instrument for $500(after the case and bow everything came out to about $750).  I specifically picked this one because it did not sound like a normal violin.  I do not really like the bright crisp sound most violins have, this one is much softer, more like a viola.

I brought the instrument home and began to play on it.

I  originally played the violin for maybe 6 years in the Suzuki method starting at the age of 4.  Despite having asked for a violin for my 4th birthday, I did not enjoy playing it at all.  My parents where not so good to me and the violin practices where among the worst.  I could hardly play a measure before my mother would stop me and point out some mistake.  We'd often spend the whole day working on just three notes...

I later moved on to the viola when my Suzuki teacher retired.  I ended up spending about a year fiddling, bluegrass which I very much enjoyed.  I quit when I was in my early teens anyways.

I no longer live with my parents, and I have decided to relearn the violin.  I hide in the attic, where I hope no one can hear my awful squeaks.  I've been playing it for about two days now, and have noticed something "wrong" with my violin.  I guess I could probably take it back to the shop as I've had it less than a week, but I'd like to have your opinion on whether this is fatal first.