Tips for waiters, tips for teachers?

August 2, 2010 at 01:05 AM ·

Etiquette for lessons--is one expected to give a tip to a teacher?  Ever, or only at certain times?  I want to do the right thing when I start lessons, hopefully soon.

Replies (22)

August 2, 2010 at 02:30 AM ·

If tipping is customary, my teachers must hate me.  I've never tipped any of my teachers.  And I don't tip my son's teacher either.  The whole notion of tipping is silly anyway. 

August 2, 2010 at 02:47 AM ·

As a teacher myself, I say definitely not. While the sentiment of course is appreciated, the relationship between teacher and student is a really special one that a tip can certainly spoil. To show gratitude to your teacher, a thank-you card/note on your "anniversaries" (after 6 months or something) would be absolutely appropriate and almost certainly appreciated. My favorite things are just when a student thanks me after a lesson or remarks (honestly, of course!) that they're having fun with lessons and that they're learning a lot. Worth more than any monetary tip!

August 2, 2010 at 05:30 AM ·

Greetings,

definitely not.  One of the most important things that can  make or break a teacher student (parent) relationship is clarity of contract.  Before one gets down to the playing side everone must be absolutely clear about what they are getting,  preferably in writing.   It is only through this business like approach that mutula trust can be created.  The problems will start the moment the rules start bending even with the bets possible intentions.

Small gifts within reason are fine but thta is not tipping and only for special ocassions (Tuesdays ,  for example).

Cheers,

Buri

August 2, 2010 at 05:58 AM · I like to surprise my teacher with an occasional random gift - this gets the message across better than a tip, I think.

August 2, 2010 at 07:08 AM ·

"The whole notion of tipping is silly anyway."