Beginner end 'standard' concertos for music school auditions?

July 6, 2010 at 03:31 PM ·

Hello,

I've been playing violin for about 7 years now and I really want to go to music school. I know that it will be difficult, I have thought long and hard about this, and I know that the first reaction of many is to discourage people who aren't absolutely perfect from pursuing a performance degree because finding an orchestra job is really hard if you're not at the top for your age. Though I have 7 years experience, I just got a private teacher recently and so far it's only for the summer because she is moving away. I'm working on vibrato, but as of yet I am not very good at it. I can do my 3 octave major scales averagely, and am working on them as well as the melodic and harmonic minors. I've been in my high school's orchestra since freshman year, and we are arguably the best in the district if not the state. We have done repertoire such as: romeo and juliet, barber of seville, night on bald mountain, and hungarian rhapsody to give you a sense of the level. I practice at least an hour a day, but usually two and I'm aiming for 3 or more now since it's the summer.

My top choice school is Oberlin, which is also the biggest reach for me. It's the only big name school that I'm going for, simply because of the audition repertoire which isn't like other school's. It is: One first movement of a standard concerto,other than a Bach concerto; One movement from a Bach Partita or Sonata; A study such as Dont, Gavinies, Rode, Paganini; Major and Minor scales 16th notes, 3 octaves. Either the concerto or the Bach must be memorized.

I've heard they don't really ask for scales but I think they will in my case.

I know the whole 'it's not what you play, but how' so I'm looking for a concerto that's more on the beginning side but still can show that I have potential to grow as a musician if accepted.

I've heard Bruch is good and easily learned, any other suggestions?