What am i missing ?

June 15, 2010 at 07:16 PM ·

First let me start with some background information, I'm an adult beginner who has been taking private lessons for about 6 months, now i'm about to be done with Book 1 of A Tune a Day by C.Paul Herfurth, the problem is i feel like i should be doing more, know more, than i am at this point. To clarify i can sight read and play all the pieces in the book with relatively good intonation and perfect technique[ or so my teacher says :) ] but i still have some trouble with the key signatures and other music theory stuff... for example when playing in the D major key(?) i was just told that the two sharp signs reffered to F# and C# and so that's what i do every time i see them, but i also want to know  WHY?! i want to understand the big picture. Aslo i'm not very happy with the method book that we're using and, for Book 2, would like to switch to one that has a lot more explanations provided( re: theory) before each new lesson.

So what i'm looking for are suggestions for a good and comprehensive Music Theory Book, one that will teach me EVERYTHING THERE IS TO KNOW, in a detailed fashion(a CD or DVD to go with it would be nice but not a MUST) and secondly a method book to replace A Tune a Day Book 2, one with explanations that will help me work my way through the book even without a teacher. Not that i'm giving up my lessons, it's just that my teacher has a very thick russian accent and even though she gets my questions i don't always understand her explanations(sometimes things get lost in translation, literally,which is a source of great frustration for both of us). I'm sticking with her because she is so friendly and has been a great source of encouragement for me, which i value greatly as an adult beginner.

Also are there other books i should be reading or working on in addition to the method book of choice. I recently went on a book buying frenzy and got the following

Basics and Practice by Simon Fischer