Playin' the blues.

May 2, 2010 at 03:04 PM ·

Hello, I am a beginner violinist. What are some recommended steps that can aid me in playing some jazzy blues. Or some bluesy jazz. Whichever you prefer!

Replies (44)

May 2, 2010 at 04:50 PM ·

A blues scale consists of

• the root (first note of the scale)
  • lowered (minor) 3rd (no 2nd scale step)
  • the 4th
  • lowered 5th
  • natural 5th
  • lowered 7th (no 6th step)
  • root (octave higher)

So, for example, a blues scale in C would be:

C - E flat - F - G flat - G natural - B flat - C

A blues scale has seven notes and includes a flatted 3rd, 5th and 7th. These three flatted notes are often referred to as "blue notes." See: Essentials of Music Theory: Complete Self-Study Course, p. 111.

May 2, 2010 at 07:23 PM ·

Slide into and out of the blue notes.

May 2, 2010 at 08:45 PM ·

The scale described above, without the b5, is called a pentatonic (5 tone) minor scale.  It's the scale used, often with the addition of the b5, by most blues guitarists and will yield that raunchy chicago/delta style bluesy sound.

Violinists often use the relative MAJOR pentatonic scale when they play blues-- same notes but starting on the second note of the minor pentatonic.  Now the scale degrees are 1-2-3-5-6, skipping the 4th and 7th notes of the major scale.  It should sound like the Temptations "my girl".  You can add the "blue note" with this scale, but now it functions as a b3 and the chromatic portion of the scale is 2-b3-3.  Use of this scale when improvising yields a more jazzy, country blues sound.

The thing to remember about blues is that the accompaniment can, and often does, consist of nothing but dominant (7th) chords, which combine a major 3rd with a minor 7th.  So, soloists can get away with playing what is essentially a minor melodic line over a chord containing a major third.