Student violins vs. professional

April 17, 2010 at 05:59 AM ·

So I've been learning to play the violin for a few months now and in my quest to know everything there is to know about violins I'm curious as to what exactly makes a student violin and what doesn't. Is it somehow easier to learn on one? Is it just poorer quality? Is there even a standard definition of what makes a student violin?

Replies (57)

April 17, 2010 at 06:13 AM ·

Cynical view - a STUDENT violin is the one you own and a PROFESSIONAL one is the more expensive one the dealer shows you that sounds worse.

Seriously, the line of demarcation isn't clear and the subject of much argument. A dealer here sold a violin to a "progressing" student with the approval of his teacher. The NEXT teacher, however, expressed outrage that the dealer had sold the pupil this instrument and made a big issue about it - not quite reaching litigation. And someone at undergrad level is STILL a student, and would hope to have a better violin than an absolute beginner.

I suppose you should consult not only your own teacher but someone else as well. 

April 17, 2010 at 06:27 AM ·

Well, it depends on who is applying the label 'student' and 'professional'. If it is a dealer, the cost is the only dependable difference.

That said, I would classify the instruments I have as 'student'. I have one that makes a lovely sound, and I have been told it could be better with a good setup; that will come shortly. I have two others that are still being developed, one that I think can sound as good, the other is still a good violin.

I have heard them in the same room as a violin I would consider professional. When it was played, the room got bigger. Same notes, some differences in the timber, but the quality of the sound was more impressive.