A beginners learning curve and frustration

April 12, 2010 at 10:42 PM ·

I know this kind of discussion has been bounced back and forth many time before, but for my own sanity and piece of mind, please indulge me.

I'm almost 30 and have been playing violin for sixth months during which I've made steady progress.  I began self taught but have recently found an excellent Suzuki teacher (we also learn folk) but I'm becoming very frustrated with the plateau I've reached.

What I'd like to ask is the early experiences of other players.  What stages did you encounter along the way and what were the hurdles you had to overcome?

Currently I'm regularly hitting off notes/strings and my tonality is not always on target.  Songs sound very flat and un-emotional.  It feels very easy to give up at this point but I'd feel terrible as I love the music a well played violin can make.

I understand that great performance takes years to acomplish, but what are the key milestones along the way?

Is anyone aware (I'm looking at violin teachers here) of a generalised learning curve that amateurs encounter?  Basically I'd be very interested to see what usually happens within the first month, then within six months and then a year and so on.

This way I could work towards a goal or see where I should be progressing within the upcoming months.

I hope this makes sense and thanks in advance!

Replies (38)

April 12, 2010 at 11:01 PM ·

I start learning the violin when I was 36, and the "star" didn't "twinkle" for at least almost 4 mos, I knew then, that Suzuki method are not for me, but I stayed, since I have no idea how it works then, see, I never knew anything about music at all. The following year, the teacher suddenly disappear without any notice at all, the best thing she ever done to me, so I looked for a new teacher and have started with  Scales book, and Doflein methods, I progress  evenly.