Nathan Milstein: Master of Invention

March 16, 2010 at 09:11 PM ·

Part One:

www.youtube.com/watch

Part Two:

www.youtube.com/watch

I saw that "Hollenbach" had linked this over on Maestronet, and I thought we could all enjoy it too.

Replies (8)

March 16, 2010 at 10:39 PM ·

Thanks!!! Extraordinairy!!!

Anne-Marie

March 17, 2010 at 03:09 AM ·

Ann:  I have had this DVD from about 1 minute after it was first issued.  I had a long e-mail conversation with the producer in England who had quite a relationship with Milstein.  Its a wonderful DVD.  I am currently studying with a young Russian violinist here in Orange County California and his teacher is Harotune Bedelian who was a long time student of Milstein in Europe.  I am constantly getting anecdotal info on Milstein and his playing,  sense of humor, etc.  Its quite interesting.  I am much older and actually saw Milstein in concert in Long Beach, CA.  My teacher at that time was the concert master of the Long Beach Symphony.  He played the Goldmark VC, which unfortunately is not played much today.  Its a beautiful concerto.  Thanks for the post.  Charles Bott

March 17, 2010 at 04:03 AM ·

82 and playing like that! Don't expect to see that again.

March 17, 2010 at 04:18 AM ·

I watched it last weekend, during practice breaks.  The whole documentary is about two hours long.  I thought it was beautifully made, and the editing was most sensitive for the performance segments.  All of those close ups!

Few can come close to Milstein's Goldmark.  I wish I had heard him live, but he was performing before my time.  I listen to his solo Bach recordings a lot, and his Tchaikovsky concerto too. 

I'm going to re-read his excellent autobiography, From Russia to the West soon.  That book is tragically out of print, and pretty expensive now.

March 17, 2010 at 01:43 PM ·