Why do we tune in 5ths?

March 9, 2010 at 03:13 PM ·

Good Day. Being an adult beginner I have found the violin both interesting historically as well as a daunting undertaking.  I am compelled to ask "why things are?".  So, why do we tune in fifths instead of , say, fourths or octaves.  Is there an actual practical reason or just custom?  On a side, why, then, are basses tuned in fourths?  Thanks,  Clif

Replies (27)

March 9, 2010 at 03:25 PM ·

Violins are tuned in fifths because this harmonic relationship produces the richest set of overtones. Gambas, which are tuned in fourths, have a somewhat less resonant series of overtones. This probably has as much to do with their difference in sound as does the shape difference. Contrabasses are tuned in fourths because they come to us from the gamba family. As time has passed, they have morphed into a hybrid of gamba and violin, and many players are now exploring fifths tuning. Even though it produces problems for the player in certain passages and keys, the difference in sound is striking.

March 9, 2010 at 05:31 PM ·

Another reason for tuning in fifths is that we have 4 fingers. Try playing some of the same music on a cello (also tuned in fifths), where we tend to come up one finger "short" (in every sense of the word) and you will see!

Andy

March 9, 2010 at 05:38 PM ·

Robert,

I'm not dismissing what you've said, but I suspect it may also have simply to do with how things lie on the fingerboard. Due to the small size of the instrument, I could imagine it being discovered that if the strings were tuned in 4ths, the 4th finger would be rendered useless in the first position. Also, it must have been recognized that the natural frame of the hand from 1 to 4 formed an octave.

In looking at all the interval options, I'd guess that the tuning system of 5ths is a product of maximum utility. 

ps Andrew, we must have been typing at the same time!

Scott

March 9, 2010 at 10:58 PM ·