Brand New

February 24, 2010 at 06:31 AM ·

First of all, hello everyone. :)

I'm new to the site and I'm on the brink of turning 22. I've always wanted to learn the violin. When I was younger my parents couldn't afford an instrument for me, and my school offered no music program. I looked around but the nearest course was an hour away, with both parents working no one could take me.

I now have the means to buy an instrument, and the drive to finally do something I've been wanting to do as long as I can remember, so I thought now would be the time to start.

I've been researching for several days (one of the ways I found this site.) and I can find so many things on the disadvantage older beginners have. I think I'm at even more of a disadvantage because I have no musical background at all.

Since this discovery I've started learning how to read sheet music, and taking notes on things I think I need to remember. Things unrelated to the violin that I should know before playing.

Now it comes to buying a violin. I want to buy a beginners violin, but not a low quality violin. I'm going down to a couple of the top rated violin shops in Hawaii this week, so perhaps I can find a violin I like there. I was also looking at Shar's Franz Hoffmann Deluxe Etude Violin Outfit. I like the idea of buying online because my husbands in the military, and we move around every couple of years, and if I decide later I want to upgrade, then I can do that through them, with the exchange program they offer.

I was wondering if you had any tips for me in regards to begginning my study.