Is it helpful to have musical parents

February 11, 2010 at 05:46 PM ·

My 8 year old son is learning violin.  He is doing Suzuki.  His teacher requires one parent to attend his lessons and also be with him when he practices.  For a while, my wife, who is not a musician was the Suzuki parent.  Within 3-4 months, my son's musical ability was way beyond that of my wife.  For example, one of his daily exercises is a book called "Winning Rhythms" which is a rhythm training book.  By the time he started doing 1/16ths, triplets and syncopated rhythms, there was no way my wife could keep up.  So I have taken over.  I am a proficient amateur violinist.

Now that I am the Suzuki parent, I see other kids taking their lessons and the parents seem to have no clue what is going on.  But the kids continue to learn and progress, just like I did when I was small (neither of my parents knew anything about music). 

So my question has to do with whether or not kids with musical parents, in particular, violin students with violinist parents have an advantage over those that do not.  I would especially like to hear from teachers on this issue.  Do your students learn faster when their parents are musicians?  In my case, there is a bit of friction between myself and my son's teacher.  When I am trying to help my son, his teacher sometimes views me as overstepping my bounds. And she absolutely objects to me showing my son stuff that she has not taught him.  So I have to be very careful about what I say or do regarding violin. 

Replies (36)

February 11, 2010 at 06:12 PM ·

I think it can be a benefit if you support their learning and help them to achieve it. But I really don't feel like it matters. I think the reason why some kids who have parents who are violinist and learn to play violin is because they were exposed to it and those children might have their parents sit in while they practice and help them at home.