Modern Violins

February 1, 2010 at 10:42 PM ·

Okay okay... Uh-oh, is it all that bad with moder-- cheap modern violins?
It looks good on the outside but I wonder how is it on the inside ...

*How long is it going to last?
*What are the main problems with it?
*Would you recommend such a thing for a complete beginner?
*Would my violin teacher accept such a thing? :O
-------------------
Aside from that, my mom really wants to see that I'm really determined.. When she bought me the guitar, I assure you it was the cheapest she could find, lol. But right now I'm still with that guitar, playing every once in a while and uh-oh, it's not bad at all. And to be honest, I don't see anything wrong with it, even now. Well, this is just the story of my guitar, I wonder how will it go with the violin...
-------------------
I don't quite understand what could be wrong with the violin aside from strings and the bow, perhaps even the case it's held in. Err, well, pegs could be a problem too but could somebody elaborate on that?

Cheers,
Theo

Replies (39)

February 2, 2010 at 12:35 AM ·

Hi, Theo --

What I have to say about "cheap modern violins" today is totally different that what I would have said a week ago.  I'm a beginning violinist on a very tight budget.  I shopped around, and settled on the least expensive violin I could find -- regularly $99.95 (U.S. Dollars), but on sale for $74.95.  I don't plan to do any more with my playing than just playing for my own enjoyment.  I figured pretty much any violin would be OK to learn on.  Not so!