Reaching the Tip of the Bow -- Why Not Use a 3/4 bow with a 4/4 violin?

January 25, 2010 at 09:03 PM ·

I’m a petite person (5'0", small frame, shorter arms) who plays a 4/4 violin an bow but cannot reach the tip of the bow.  I’ve searched previous threads/discussions re switching from a 4/4 bow to a 3/4, but unless I missed something (apologies if so), I could not find an answer as to WHY this is usually not done. To be honest, it makes pretty good sense to me, especially if the difference between the two sizes is not huge but enough to enable one to reach the tip. But, as I am totally new to the violin, I wanted to ask all of you what the rationale is for sticking with the 4/4 bow.

Thanks very much in advance.

Phil

Replies (29)

January 25, 2010 at 09:06 PM ·

I would change the placement of the instrument so that the tip of the bow can be reached...it's a matter of angles. Holding the violin more in the center as opposed to the left (where chinrests are usually mounted) can make a big difference.

Also, a lot of violinists tend to hold the instrument very far to the left. If you rotate it an inch or two to the right, combined with the above hold, you'll probably find reaching the tip while maintaining the angle of your correct bow stroke is no issue at all. :)

January 25, 2010 at 10:06 PM ·

I've had students with the same issue, though I've never run into it in an adult.  What Gene said often can fix the issue, but I have had students where  we marked "Tip tapes" that were about as far as their arm could reach without stretching.  If Gene's tips don't fix the problem, I can't see why a 3/4 bow would be an issue as long as it's a decent quality bow for your level.

January 25, 2010 at 10:30 PM ·