playing without shoulder rest -suggestions..?

December 18, 2008 at 06:09 PM ·

I played for a good time of my life so far with a shoulder rest , and my old teacher tought me to think that it is an indispensable accesoire.  However, the teacher that I have been having for an year so far plays without using one . Also , I know Heifetz forced  all his students to not use shoulder retsts, because he thought the shoulder rest affects the sound.

By keeping watching my teacher , I finally took the decision to have a change in approach and mindset, and , first time when I tried playing without shoulder rest , was approximately a month ago. I kept changing between with and without shoulder rest , however mostly with.

Now , I started playing only without it.

However, some problems appeared ,and I am wondering if they are normal. First of all, after the first 1-2 hours of my practice , I start feeling a strong tension in my shoulders. The only position when I don't feel that tension , is when I keep the violin very much towards the side , upward, but I won't stay in that position all that time. After I am done practicing , my shoulder  muscles are really hearting , and sometimes even my neck myscles.

Than, playing without shoulder rest sometimes affects my fluency through fast passages .

Regarding vibrato , it seems to have been enriched since I stopped using shoulder rest , however, at some moments it gets affetcted by the general incomfortability felt by my upper body.

Also , to play well without shoulder rest , I seem to need to wear clothing that will not cover my shoulders , so that my left shoulder can really keep tight to the violin . If I wear a long sleeves top , it gets considerable harder to sustain the violin while playing, as it slips away all the time..

Is there something I am doing wrong? If you have any suggestions ,I would be happy to hear them.

Thank you,

Larisa

Replies (27)

December 18, 2008 at 09:43 PM ·