How to improve intonation

December 9, 2008 at 05:44 PM ·

I'm an adult beginner.  I would like to improve my intonation.  I can not play the piano while playing the violin, (thought that would help).  What can I do?.  I seem to be able to notice intonation problem in others but less easily when I play.  I do practice daily scales (1hr) and Svecik exercises.  What do you suggest.  I try to check with open string and the tuner, so I'm dead on.  Open string is more difficult but I love the challenge.  The problem, is I would like to do some exercises only for intonation.   Signing would be a great idea, but how do I know I sign "in tune"?

Many thanks!

Replies (36)

December 9, 2008 at 06:02 PM ·

I've been told that I have great intonation while playing my violin/viola. So I can try to give some pointers for what helped me.

Well, since you have already stated that you played piano, you have an idea of what the 'sound' is suppose to be right?  And you have stated that you play scales?  Well those two rights there are a start. Slowly practicing scales and not rushing through will help out a lot.  But you asked, how do I know you’re playing in tune (the right note on the page to the correct pitch)?  Obviously you probably know that they make tuners that show a dial-indicator of what your actual pitch is, and then you can adjust from there by using the tuner.  Or you could buy a synthetic keyboard and tune to that.