The Gammuto Violins

November 12, 2008 at 10:05 PM ·

There has been a lot of discussion on this board with regard to the quality and origin of the Gammuto violins.  As many of you know, Mr. Gammuto is a sponsor here and posts often.

Unfortunately most of the discussion has been negative and largely heresay and opinions.  I am the only one to step up and declare myself as an owner of one of his fiddles. 

Let me first give you some of my personal background.  I am a retired senior executive (cement company)  I started playing when I was six and continued through age 19.  During that time I served as Concertmaster of the California Youth Symphony, under Dr. Ernst Katz.  I was third chair Burbank Youth Symphony and concertmaster of the Hollywood High School Orchestra.  I was also selected as one of three violinists from California to the National High School orchestra under the direction of Thor Johnson.  We performed in St. Louis Mo.  I recorded with a studio orchestra that provided background for the movie, Unguarded Moment, with John Saxton and Esther Williams.  I got out of music for a variety of reasons but returned upon my retirement.  I have a passion for the instrument and my skill is slowly but surely returning.

While I am not a woodworking expert or luthier,  I think that I know a good fiddle when I see and play one.  I bought my first Gammuto, a student instrument toward the first of the year.  I was so impressed with it and after looking at other volins in Los Angeles, I decided to step up to a soloist model.  With the lack of references on his website, it was a matter of trust.   I bought the violins directly from Gammuto and not from his E-Bay store.  But I did check his feedback.

Since the have been some serious misgivings regarding his fiddles,here and also on Maestronet,  I undertook some in depth discovery myself, including communications with Gammuto.