Orchestra 101?

November 4, 2008 at 08:01 PM ·

Hi everyone,

I'm a film student at NYU in the process of writing a feature script for class about a violinist and the orchestra, and would like to ask about the life of a performer in an orchestra.

What kind of relationships exist between the orchestra members?  Competitive amongst like instruments?  Lots of time spent together?  Collaborating on the kinds of music played, and how to play them?

Who would be the boss of the orchestra?  How do conductors control the direction of the orchestra?  And does he/she have any important collaborators in the running of the show?

Sorry if some of these questions seem basic, but I would appreciate as many details as possible.

Thanks!

Replies (23)

November 4, 2008 at 09:10 PM ·

Boy, did you open a can of worms!

November 4, 2008 at 09:30 PM ·

A good start would be to get a copy of Fellini's "The Orchestra Rehearsal."

November 4, 2008 at 10:32 PM ·

Greetings,

after writing the Inner Game of Music timothy Greene (?) wrote a book about music organized around the idea that each insrumnet is associated with a certain type of human being.   You might find a lot of helpful insights in that.  Note for example the chapter abou bass players. When the orchestra is on tour they are the ones who go out together and have he most fun etc.

I forgot the name of the book. Anybody?

Cheers,

Buri

November 4, 2008 at 10:41 PM ·

The Mastery of Music: Ten Pathways to True Artistry, by Barry Green.

November 5, 2008 at 02:30 AM ·

Greetings,

many thanks. So what if I mixed up Timothy Gallway and Barry greene?

Somebiody on this site always knows what I am talking about....

Cheers,

Burp

November 5, 2008 at 03:21 AM ·

Well, it doesn't seem like anyone has directly answered his question. I can't do so on a professional level because I am only a student.

But I'll give you information from a high school orchestra that is similar to a professional.