Horror Stories

October 30, 2008 at 05:33 AM · Hi everyone,

I'm a student at NYU studying Film and TV Production, and I plan on my next project being about violinists and the classical orchestra. So I was wondering if any of you could help me out with some information/stories:

Has anyone had any experience with a shady violin salesperson? As in fraud, or counterfeiting, or anything along those lines?

Thanks!

Replies (31)

October 31, 2008 at 03:32 AM · See two messages before:

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2008/10/21/BACS13K1IL.DTL

October 31, 2008 at 01:23 PM · Yes, there are some bad stories about dealers.

But you could interview also some dealers. They have some horror stories about players too.

October 31, 2008 at 01:56 PM · there are so many interesting topics out there that can use the fine education from the top film school of the country,,,why this?

does nyu carry liability insurance for its students' projects?

October 31, 2008 at 02:45 PM · Even when I was a teenager, 60 years ago, my dad warned me to be suspicious of violin dealers.

A few stories: