What does a Violinist need?

October 9, 2008 at 06:15 PM · Hi - I hope someone can assist me! I am currently studying interior design and need to design a room for a violinist. Specific needs are to make it an inspiring place to practise, rehearse with a string quartet and also to provide private lessons.

I wondered if any violinsts out there would be able to provide me with some insight as to what 'you' might want & need for a room of this type?

Any info you could provide would really help me with my research.

Thanks!!!

Replies (38)

October 9, 2008 at 06:16 PM · This is my fondest fantasy -- a studio, designed by a pro....

storage for sheet music

piano

recording equipment

a large mirror

acoustical optimization

music stand(s) (maybe one of these?)

a chest or bench to put the violin on (maybe more than one, if the violinist teaches or plans to hold chamber music rehearsals in said room)

good light

beautiful expensive Persian rug

bay windows with glorious view

a soft and friendly cat who loves music and will curl up in corner

comfy couch where listener/parent of student can sit

teacher chair

chairs (stacking?) for rehearsals

Did I miss anything? ;)

Will you show us what you come up with, when you complete the project?

October 9, 2008 at 06:30 PM · A practice room with everything Laurie listed is definitely a dream room!!!

I would like to add a climate control system, such as AC, humidifier, dehumidifier, thermo/hygrometer, etc., for regulating the room in a comfortable temperature and humidity (~50%).

[BTW, I saw Heifetz in her dream practice room, especially the bay window with glorious view....]

October 9, 2008 at 06:42 PM · Everything Laurie said, and climate control like Wally said...