Don't want to quit, not enough time to practice

September 15, 2008 at 06:44 PM · I'm an adult student who doesn't want to quit, but (it seems) doesn't have enough time to put into the instrument. I've played for about 15 yrs, and am quite proficient. But, I don't have as much time as I would like to do scales, bowing and other exercises, and practice pieces every day.

Formerly, I would spend at least 45 min on Flesch, another 30 min on bowing exercises, 30 min on an etude, and at least 1hr 15 min on pieces. Often, I'd spend more time on some or all, and practice close to 4 hrs a day.

These days, there are too many other things I want and have to do. I love to bike, see the sights here in Chicago, and do things with my girlfriend.

The real problem is that if I can't get better at something, I don't want to do it. I have been improving on the violin, but it seems that is from sheer volume and effort.

These days, I could probably manage 1 to 1.5 hrs a day, but it doesn't really seem worth it. I could spend all that time maintaining and improving technique, but not play any music, or go to the other extreme. That amount of time doesn't seem like enough for me to improve, so that I can progressively play the pieces I want to.

The question is this: If I could average only 1 hour per day, how should I (generally) spend it? I want to push my technique, and be able to work on a piece. Would it be worthwhile to alternate days of technique and music?

Replies (29)

September 15, 2008 at 07:03 PM · Welcome to my world.

I am all excited if I can put in 1hr a day practice. I have learned to set expectations in relationship with the effort I can put in. But it's easier since I went from nothing to 1hr/day, so anything I gained was gravy. Having to drop one's expectations is probably quite frustrating.