instructional DVDs

August 15, 2008 at 07:46 AM · Hi folks, I was wondering how violinists feel about instructional dvds.

i'm a fulltime jazz guitarist (there's more info about me in the "teacher woes" subject) and know for a fact that there's a pretty good market for instructional guitar dvds, but i'm wondering how people feel about violin DVDs.

Now, even though there's a market for guitar dvds (or back in the old days VHS), a lot of it is junk and very superficial.

I ask this because I've recently started my own instructional video company and have released 5 jazz guitar dvds that are really succesfull and that have allowed me to live off royalties for quite some time.

I've decided to expand this business to include other artists and also other instruments.

btw, i don't want to turn this thread into any kind of advertising thread so i will not include the name of my company nor of the artists, unless asked. The purpose of this discussion is to gather information.

as far as my business goes, the goal is to make extremely high quality instructional dvds unlike most in the market. I'm a fulltime musician who taught and gave masterclasses in canada, USA, europe, and pedagogy is something that was always important to me, i've studied with numerous teachers so i've been exposed to various methods of teaching; the good and the bad all helped me decide how i wanted to teach.

the concept behind my videos is to show as much material as possible and to provide extremely clear examples of how the material is to be worked on and applied.

with that said, since violin is a childhood passion of mine, i've been looking into producing unique instructional violin videos.

I did some extensive research. There are no Gypsy violin or good jazz violin dvds out there..