Teacher woes

August 14, 2008 at 08:57 PM · I started taking "formal" lessons last week with a teacher I found on the internet. Before I begin, I should give a bit of info about myself. I'm a fulltime jazz musician (guitarist) with a degree in classical music theory. I've loved the violin since I was a child and know quite a lot about violin culture, performance practice, techniques, etc... On top of that, I've had the oppurtunity to play and work with world class violinists. However, I only picked up the violin last december. I didn't have any formal lessons but got lots of tips and advice from a lot of my professional violin friends (who are too busy to give regular lessons). Nonetheless, I was able to make a lot of progress on my own and by pestering them with advice every time I had the chance. I have really good ears so I know when I play out of tune; I am able to go to various positions, depending on what I`m asked to play, I can go up to 4th/5th positions, have started working on vibrato, etc... I would really like to stress that I have practically bathed in violin music of many styles since I was a teenager (i'm 26 now), so I am not ignorant when it comes to violin culture.

anyway I decided I would really like to take it seriously, since I have a lot of free time. I decided to look for regular lessons. I know of some of the best teachers in town but it's not within my budget to study with them (and they probably don't teach adult beginners anyway). I stumbled upon an interesting ad on the internet from a fellow who claims to play all the challenging pieces (paganini caprices, wienawski, etc...) and I was able to negociate a price within my budget.