Non-repertoire music for a Suzuki #4 Violinist

August 11, 2008 at 05:50 AM · I'm an adult student, working on Suzuki book 4. The thing is though, it seems that everyone who has picked up a violin knows all these songs. Its a great learning method, but I'm trying to find some music to supplement it for personal satisfaction, and that way I have a few more tunes to show off to friends with.

Does anyone have any recommendations of pieces that I could work on?

Replies (20)

August 11, 2008 at 07:38 AM · Hi there, I'm also on Suzuki Book 4. Do you have the Solo for Young Violinist? 2nd half of book 1 and beginning of book 2 is about our level.

I would love to hear other's suggestions as well!

August 11, 2008 at 09:45 AM · Fun with Solos by Evelyn Avsharian.

August 11, 2008 at 02:17 PM · Since you specify only what book-not the piece, this is a shot in the dark.....

There were several student Concerti written by Seitz....beyond the few movements in the Suzuki books.

There are some relatively easy Concerti by Hans Sitt-that are fairly neat sounding, but not too hard.

There are 600 concerti besides the 4 Seasons, and the G and A minor concerti that everyone knows....they were all written for his students, and were written by someone who knew about playing the violin and teaching it.

August 11, 2008 at 07:26 PM · I think that was about the level my daughter was at when she played the Accolay.

August 11, 2008 at 07:34 PM · Peruse the sheet music and books at Sheetmusic.com. You can see sample pages and decide for yourself if you can play the pieces.

August 11, 2008 at 08:15 PM · Millionaire's Hoedown - clebanoff

Polish Dance - Severn

The Boy Paganini - Mollenhauer

Donkey Doodle - Kroll

Orange Blossom Special - in book 2 of the Fairfield Fiddle Farm Book

August 11, 2008 at 08:21 PM · If you have never played, The Puppet Show by Josephine Trott audiences love it. It is more like Suzuki book 2-3 level but it will be a quick learn and it's really fun.