Have you ever hit the wall?

July 15, 2008 at 05:07 PM · I would like to hear about your violin learning experience, especially adult beginners. Hmm.... our last adult beginners thread has been buried for awhile... maybe it's time..

Have your violin study been smooth sailing all along? Steady progress?

Or do you have a rough start, then it smooth out?

Or you have a smooth start, and then all of a sudden hit a wall?

What was the turning point?

What was the wall that you hit? And how did you get over the wall?

I considered myself very lucky that I had quite a smooth start, with a little bit of music background, I was able to jump start quickly and progress very quickly. But I really do feel like I'm starting to encounter some rocky road, or perhaps, hitting a wall. (But that's okay, I fully understand that it would not be a smooth ride all the way).

Teachers- is there a spot where beginners tends to get stuck and give up easily?

Keep in mind that I'm still an early beginner, some of these areas may be laughable..

1. I thought my scales/appregios were getting there but now I have to slur 8 of them.

2. I can't play fast without making a royal mess.

3. I still cannot do decent dynamic control

4. Barring finger or rolling finger to play perfect 5th is still very difficult for me, but it's getting better.

5. Double stops- it seem so easy to others, but whether or not I can hit two strings at once is like the act of god.

6. Shifting down is more difficult than shifting up, it is like, well, act of god.

7. 4th finger intonation- it's weak, and i'm often flat. :(

8. Slurred string crossings- another holy mess

Replies (22)

July 15, 2008 at 05:22 PM · Ehh, don't worry about it too much. Learning the violin is an exercise in hitting walls and plateaus. You just have to keep at it--even though it feels like you're a hamster on a wheel you probably ARE going forward.

July 15, 2008 at 05:57 PM · Gee, I thought the whole process was one of scaling a vertical wall!