How Many Violins do You Have?

May 27, 2008 at 04:55 PM · I have owned only one violin since I started playing as a kid. I have played a few other instruments here and there for various reasons throughout the years. I was always struck by the noticible difference between these violins in terms of tone and feel. However, I recently got my hands on another instrument to try out for a couple of weeks. I have been swapping between my violin and the loaner to note the differences, and new idea came to me. It seems that the differences in these two violins point out difference in my playing that seems to synergize my efforts. I actually think that swapping between the two helps me play better. Of course, I have a preference for my own violin, but I am now considering seriously buying this loaner violin so I have 'options', and may indeed have the possibility to play better.

So my question is: has this occurred to you, and how many different violins do you play regulary?

Replies (24)

May 27, 2008 at 05:30 PM · I play on more than one regularly, but it reflects a situation, i.e. lesson with a young student vs. playing fiddle in a band, or the tuning required, not as a strategy for improving technique. If anything, I've recently been wondering if I'm wasting valuable time re-adjusting, since each violin requires something different. Sue

May 27, 2008 at 06:58 PM · I have two violins I use regularly. Like Sue, I sometimes wonder if I'm losing time while I readjust to the sound and response of two different instruments. One quite "tight", the other "soft" under the bow and each requires a different technique (and bow) to play well.

While it might be good experience to learn how to adapt to different instruments and their challenges, one could also argue that I might be farther ahead if I just concentrated in playing one well...

May 27, 2008 at 07:29 PM · I wouldn't mind having a Strad for every day of the week.