What made you play the violin??

May 27, 2008 at 04:55 PM · Please share your story on how you started playing the violin .. what's your experience, feeling, inspiration..why did you started playing the violin, what you see in playing it.. please share your story..I would love to hear it :]

Replies (20)

May 27, 2008 at 07:36 PM · A few vignettes from my very early childhood:

- My parents playing violin duets, dancing to them, and having great fun! ("if violin playing can make you so happy, I want to do it, too")

- A record, in a blue sleeve, of Jascha Heifetz playing Zigeunerweisen (Gypsy Airs; aka ZigZag) by Sarasate. It had me glued to the gramophone.

- Myself, making toy violins from cigar boxes and pieces of string (and getting very frustrated, because I could not make music on them)

May 27, 2008 at 08:57 PM · I started playing drums in junior high school, and I was driving everyone crazy with 'all that noise'. I was tired of it, too, and I just wanted to play a melodic instrument. The old 'family violin' was in the attic, so took it down and there you have it! Now I still drive everyone crazy with 'all that noise'! (Is Bach really 'noise'?)

May 28, 2008 at 02:03 AM · I started when I was 6 years old, but I didn't really enjoy it. Not that I didn't like what I was doing; to me it was just something that I learned to do so I did it.

Growing up and getting one's heart broken changed my perspective :P

May 28, 2008 at 02:06 AM · Greetings,

I wa salready hacking away with disinterest and a mediocre teacher at age 8 when I firts ehard Heifetz playing the mendelssohn on the radio. That`s when I decided I was going to be a violnist.

Alas, he caught me listenign and decided he was going to be a curmudgeon.

Cheers,

Buri

May 28, 2008 at 06:40 AM · it was definitely its versatility. i LOVE the violin and all it can do