How often do you replace your strings?

May 15, 2008 at 03:34 AM · I change my Dominant G,D,A strings once a month. and I replace my Pirastro Gold E every 2 weeks. What about you?

Replies (26)

May 16, 2008 at 02:43 AM · I play D'Addarrio Helicore's and I replace the A & E evey two concerts (2 weeks-ish) and the D & G about once a month. Gotta keep em' fresh when you rock out...

-Ross Christopher

www.rosschristopher.com

www.myspace.com/rosschristopher

May 16, 2008 at 12:35 PM · I used to be a two week switch, or one month new set person. Now that I've got my own place to pay all the bills for... not so much.

May 16, 2008 at 12:36 PM · Oh, I fluctuate between all the synthetics by Pirastro and Thomastik-Dominant

May 16, 2008 at 12:53 PM · I'm a beginner I keep mine on for months, anywhere between 3-6 months.

May 16, 2008 at 02:20 PM · Passione wound gut...I get maybe 5-6 weeks per set depending.

May 17, 2008 at 03:31 AM · What does it mean to "Go false"?

May 17, 2008 at 03:35 AM · Go false = out of tune,not appropriate,

sound that is not "true"

out of whack

inappropriate

unpleasing

off the line

repellant

exceedingly dull to the ear

out of sorts

shockingly demoralizing to the spirit

demonstratively unpalliative

inadequate

poor

slight

warped

unbalanced

lethargic

dim

unresponsive

dreary

dark

dismal

contrary to the norm

weak

unfit

mal-contented

no good

of no hope

disregardable

inefficient

lazy

ohhhh, maybe thats just me.

if there is doubt----switch strings !!!

May 17, 2008 at 05:39 PM · That was inspiring, Joe: