New York Times and the lost Strad

May 7, 2008 at 06:38 PM · As an artist manager, I have spent many hours getting reviews and articles for my clients and I know the value of media. The two-page spread about Philippe Quint is about as much as has been written about any classical musician over the past year. But is any press good press? Is the value of a Strad the media value or the sound? I would like your views

Replies (102)

May 7, 2008 at 09:56 PM · This is a terrific question because "Stradivari" is a big name that people who know anything about music love to drop all the time. I can't speak from first-hand experience, obviously because I haven't played one, but personally I feel that there is a psychological advantage to having a 'big name' instrument, for the player and the audience. Honestly, it is hard if not impossible to tell when someone is playing the real thing or not, and famous artists interchange instruments all the time. But, this is only my humble opinion and i'll wait for the posts of the more seasoned and experienced veterans of v.com.

May 8, 2008 at 02:39 AM · I think the media should do a better job explaining that the exorbitant amounts paid for strads comes down to wealthy collectors who have been driving up prices for decades, that the sound component contained in these prices is negligible.

Blind listening tests have been inconclusive, that is they have shown that the sound from strads is as often perceived superior as that of modern instruments. The most expensive modern instruments are in the vicinity of 100K USD. If we assume that 100% of the value of such a modern instrument is determined by its sound, then the value of a strad that fetched 4m USD, would brake down to 2.5% sound value and 97.5% collector value. If we allow for a modern instrument to also have some collector value, as opposed to its value being entirely determined by its sound, then the sound value component of such a strad would be even lower than 2.5%.