Can you make someone cry?

May 1, 2008 at 05:43 PM · I'm not sure I've ever stood on a stage and made a whole audience weep except for maybe my Mother, but I have been an elementary school music teacher before and have had some experiences that were very stirring.

The first was as a first year teacher. I was slated to teach a 3rd grade violin program and in the first week with the class I played for them. I made them all sit on the floor, turned off the bright lights, and played Meditation from Thais for them. At one point this little boy started crying and couldn't be consoled. I took him aside and he told me it made him think of his mommy had passed away the previous year.

Replies (46)

May 1, 2008 at 05:45 PM · I did not make anyone cry, exactly, but when my student orchestra played in a prison concert, the inmates were rather loud. Somehow, during a Mozart concerto, with yours truly as the soloist, they fell silent. Out of compassion, perhaps?

May 1, 2008 at 05:52 PM · I hate when the prisoners get unruly when playing!!

May 1, 2008 at 05:50 PM · Marina, I wanted to cry too when I read about the boy and his mom...

My boys played at a fundraising event at a pub(yes, a pub) owned by one of the parents in the school. They played Bach concerto in D minor, 2nd mvt.

The owner came up to me later and said she was so moved she cried. I dont know if she was just being polite. Well, I take it as a compliment.

May 1, 2008 at 05:50 PM · Hi Marina,