Exercise / technique and scale books in order of difficulty

April 18, 2008 at 04:03 PM · All of my students but one is a beginner. I'm looking for some exercise / technique and possibly scale books for him. I had him play the first page of Wohlfahrt op.54, and it was too easy for him. He is playing Pachelbel's Canon and Eine KLeine Nachtmusik, but they're not very challenging for him. I hope this gives you an idea of his current skill level. What exercise books would you recommend for him? Can you rank some of the commonly used books in order of difficulty? Also, do you have any suggestion on solo violin pieces for him?

Replies (24)

April 18, 2008 at 04:53 PM · I'm a beginner as you know, so not sure if they are applicable for your student. I am using Wolfhart op45, and nicolas laoureux supplement as etude (this one is quite challenging for me)

April 18, 2008 at 06:40 PM · Mazas?

April 18, 2008 at 08:08 PM · Would the Telemann fantasies be a good idea?

As for ranking classic exercise books, violinmasterclass.com has a list, and West Park Strings has one too. But surely you knew that already.

Good hunting!

April 19, 2008 at 12:45 AM · Try Doflein Book 3. It has Wohlfarht and other similar etudes, very thorough 2nd & 3rd position training, lots of duets (including some Bartok), and some more complex 1/2 position at the end. For solos, maybe try the Barbara Barber series-book 2/3.

April 19, 2008 at 01:01 AM · Patricia, I'm not especially interested in positions other than first and maybe a smattering of third. I'm thinking of books I've played in the past and have forgotten, like Hans Sitt, Dont, Rode, Kaiser, and Kreutzer. The only one I ever liked was Kreutzer because the exercises were like pretty little pieces. I hope I'm making my intent more clear. Thanks for your suggestions on exercise books anyway. The solo pieces you suggested may work well.