Expressiveness 101

April 12, 2008 at 12:49 AM · I am an adult beginner of 2 and a half years, just finishing Suzuki book 3. I am working on Humoresque and shifting (yea!)for some of the passages into 3rd position. A parent who heard my solo (in our group class) was very complementary but suggested that I just needed a little more expressiveness to make it better. (OK...so I am just trying to remember the bowings, keep the bow straight, keep the tone solid, play the notes in tune, trying to not get nervous and get the shaky-bow, etc.) In my mind, I am nicely expressive for my level, so I took it with a grain of salt, knowing that she was being very encouraging and not critical. However, since my private lesson is not until next week (and I can query my teacher about this), I am wondering: what tools can a beginner/intermediate player use to become more aware of expressiveness? Do I vizualize a scene or color for each section? (That would work with Humoresque...) Do I hold some notes just a bit longer, or give them more accents? Work on my vibrato exercises? (I am guessing that's a yes...) What do you think of when you are trying to make your music sound more expressive? How do you put the emotion into the music more deeply as a relative beginner with limited skills?

Replies (20)

April 12, 2008 at 02:20 AM · I'm a beginner myself (much shorter than you), just 3 months. I do have some piano experience, that may help you. What I do is try to feel the music, the most basic is to really use dynamics. Boy, this is hard to describe. I also like to visualize a picture for a particular piece. I can't play spring on the violin, but when I'm playing the piano part, I would imagine myself running freely in a big open garden, a very sweet scene.. I don't know if this helps at all...

April 12, 2008 at 03:06 AM · Expressiveness is the ability to take music beyond the mechanical and technical, from a listener's point of view.