Self taught experience.

April 10, 2008 at 04:37 AM · I am living in Vietnam and to find a good violin teacher here is extremely hard,that's why I have to learn by myself by using the video from violinmasterclass.

If any one has experience in self teaching,please share it with me,tell me what book should I read.

PS:Please don't tell me to find a teacher,I'm not against learning with a teacher at all,I just can't find one.

Replies (42)

April 10, 2008 at 06:40 AM · I had teachers when I was a kid, so it's not the same as starting from scratch, but after not playing for 36 years I'm trying to relearn on my own (no money to spare for a teacher right now.) What I've been doing is watching Ben Chan and Professer V videos on youtube, picking up little tidbits from the discussion boards and trying them, and playing through my old Suzuki books (I was in books 3 and 4 when I quit as a child.) I like Suzuki because it helps immensely to listen to the recordings and I can find them on youtube. Plus I love the old classical pieces. I'll check how my fingers and bow hand look in the mirror to see if looks right. When I practice, sometimes I'll work on specific things like scales, and sometimes I'll just experiment with the bow for a while--trying to get the sound to change up from sweet and light to dark or loud, or really smooth to chirpy. Or I'll start at the beginning of book one and play through everything. Often I'll just take a break from the book and figure out tunes by ear just for the fun of it. I also bought the "Viva Vibrato" book and have been working on teaching myself that--it's slow but I am making a little progress.