Tilted bow

April 8, 2008 at 05:04 PM · I'm quite shock to find out that when I'm playing, I don't use the whole bow hair. My bow is tilted to the side , so only maybe half of the bow hair is contacting the strings, is it my bow hold? I'm still a beginner, I should be using the entire surface of the hair right?

Replies

April 8, 2008 at 08:13 PM · I agree, full contact of the hair to the string.

You'll need to discuss this with your teacher because there are too many parameters involved for us to offer targeted help here, but a few basics come to mind.

First, this suggests to me that your right arm approach causes you to 'lift' the bow too much. I imagine you're holding the bow in the air, above the string about 1 inch, and continue with that posture just as you touch the hair to the bow. This would keep the pressure too light.

The stick should be a little further away from the bridge than the hair, and if you held the bow so lightly (relative to contact with the string) that the hair doesn't 'flatten out' upon the string, then indeed, only part of the hair would contact the string. However, this would also mean you don't have a good 'grip' in the contact between the hair and the string.

Words - they fail us...grip can be used to mean the contour of the hand upon the bow, I know. Here, however, I write of the concept of the contact between the hair and the string. As you gain experience you'll realize there's a certain amount of grip between these two, and you'll need to learn just how much is required. Too much grip and the bow can't move slowly over the string without scratching and screeching. Too light, and the bow floats 'over' the string without generating much sound, but some of us tend to learn, in the early stages, that this stops the screeching, developing a bad habit of lifting the bow to avoid the screeching, rather than letting it grip the string.