smart elephant looking for violin teacher to learn open string legato...

April 3, 2008 at 04:51 PM · an elephant, painting!

Replies (23)

April 3, 2008 at 04:52 PM · That has GOT to be a ruse!

April 3, 2008 at 08:48 PM · Just don't truncate your notes.

April 3, 2008 at 10:45 PM · I wish I could play like an elephant. I'd probably have a very powerful sound.

April 4, 2008 at 12:59 AM · An elephant's faithful, one hundred percent...

signed Horton

April 4, 2008 at 01:43 AM · Al,

I just saw the amazing video — so maybe when I studied with Yfrah Neaman in London he wasn't kidding when he would say, "you can teach a monkey to play the violin."

Still don't truncate you bow stoke… and no monkey business!

April 5, 2008 at 02:44 AM · prof drew! travelling and being holed up in a hotel for this weekend for my kid's golf tournament, i find some joy in TRYING to attack your amazing book for the first time since its arrival this week. boy, has that been an uphill battle and humbling experience! i love it. some sentences take me about 5 times to get it (chance are i did not:)! i want to go through it first before showing it to my kid so that i get a better frame/sense on it. i think it is about time for both of us to look at violin playing with better organization and deeper perspective. her playing and my involvement with her playing are like turning on the TV set,,,we watch whatever it is on:):):)

yes, i think that eleplant kid is very special, as shown in that julliard audition tape:). that strong but flexible, steady, gentle bow trunk holds great promise. how big is your studio?:)

April 5, 2008 at 09:27 PM · And an elephant never forgets the music when performing.

April 5, 2008 at 08:47 PM · Al — I have a full herd, or is that heard…:-)

Ray — Great! I can now compliment my students by telling them they play like an elephant:-)))))