help choosing a solo piece for beginner

February 28, 2008 at 02:55 AM · have a solo to do by may 18, I am a beginner only been playing about a month, am working on the last two pieces in suzuki book one. What is a good solo or nice sounding piece that I might be able to do by may 18. I have a teacher and practice about 12 hours week minimum. any ideas would be great.

Replies (22)

February 28, 2008 at 03:40 AM · What's wrong with the pieces in Suzuki?

Try finding an arrangement of Vocalise by Rachmaninoff. I can't remember off the top of my head if there's any hard passages or if it goes higher than something a beginner is used to, but for the most part it's just a nice, slow moving line.

February 29, 2008 at 10:06 PM · Stealing piano melodies can be a very good approach to easy solos, and along those lines I'd recommend Traumerei from Schumann's Kinderszenen. It's a pretty tune, and you can play it all in first position. You might have a bit of trouble if you haven't learned to play F natural, B flat, or E flat yet, but I'm sure you can knock it out in the time you have. You can find free copies of the music in any number of places online. Good luck! And good job getting through Suzuki 1 after only a month.

February 29, 2008 at 11:21 PM · The first real piece I did after Suzuki Book 1 was Offenbach's Barcarolle, theme from the opera, Tales of Hoffman. My teacher gave me a simple version of it in GMaj that perhaps you could find online. It's all 1st position and it's really quite beautiful.

March 1, 2008 at 09:21 PM · Thanks I will look for those pieces and see which one I am better able to make sound musical!!

March 1, 2008 at 10:34 PM · A couple books I have that you might find suitable are:

C. Paul Herforth's "A Collection of 43 Famous Compositions arranged for violin with piano accompaniment"

"Let Us Have Music for Violin" - 21 Famous Melodies arranged and edited by George Perlman (also with piano accompaniment)