Modern Studying in isolation

February 26, 2008 at 06:01 AM · I have been hired to teach Violin for a school district, it's a great job, wide open opportunity, so I moved to a small town. I have been a performing musician my whole life, as a percussionist. My musicianship and experience is high, but violin is new to me. I am loving it. What are the best resources to learn violin by oneself? Can you recommend certain DVDs, online classes, certain recordings, the best books, etc? While the DVD's and Books for children are good, and I do also want to know the best of those, they are for kids....so, please, suggestions for the fast track to playing violin.

My ear is good, rhythm no problem, I just have a hunch I could progress quicker with good influential materials.

I did see the thread placed by someone who wants to be self taught- most replies were to find a teacher. That's not an option here. It's not that I want to be self-taught, it's that i need to learn fast and well, without a private teacher.

I am presently- practicing in front of a mirror, recording myself, stretching and doing yoga, what else is recommended?

Thanks, Andy

Replies (98)

February 26, 2008 at 12:26 PM · I'm just curious---how fast do you need to learn to play? (how much time have you budgeted for the task?) And what happens if you don't succeed in learning to play within that time?

February 26, 2008 at 12:56 PM · Get a teacher. Seriously.

February 26, 2008 at 01:13 PM · Oh, I don't know, I think he can do it on his own, ten years or so, shouldn't be a problem.