New violin (Kallo Bartok, KJS, Jay Haide a l'Ancienne?)

February 5, 2008 at 05:13 AM · I'm a HS student in 11th grade, and I'm wanting to buy a new violin to replace my (1982) suzuki nagoya violin + $40 bow that I have :)

$3,000 is the maximum I'm going to spend. I was only planning on spending 2,000 but if the price difference is worth it, I might as well spend a bit more now ;)

So I was looking for violins in this price range and saw posts about the Kallo Bartok, KJS, and the Jay Haide a l'ancienne.

What do you guys think about these violins, and are there others as well that are just as good if not better in this price range? Do they tend to be too dark?

And another thing, people were saying the kjs premier artist violins were going for $2,400 but I checked on shar's site, and they are going for $2,650 (I can get the jay haide outfit for $2,700)

If I were to get the Kallo Bartok, I could get a codabow classic or so. With the Jay Haide a l'ancienne, I'd probably get a codabow aspire.

Is there really much of a difference between the classic and aspire?

Just basically trying to get some tips here, I don't want to make a mistake on this, heh. ;)

Replies (29)

February 5, 2008 at 05:27 AM · You should definitely go to a shop and try violins for a few months before going mail-order. Don't worry that the shop's violins are too high priced. It's the learning that is important. That way when you get the instruments on trial, you'll have a basis for comparison. You'll already know what you like, dislike, and how responsive the violin is for you. Also, you might find a violin at the shop that might be older, that is still within your price range and able to carry you further in your career.