Bow Price Classes

January 21, 2008 at 01:24 AM · I'm gradually entering the market for a bow. My background: I'm a professional player and recent conservatory grad on the audition circuit. My equipment is, unfortunately, nothing special for a number of reasons. I'd been loaned a Morizot until recently, but since graduating, I've had to go back to my own bow, which is, frankly, much less than ideal. Most of the threads I've been reading here ask a question like "I have $3000. What should I look at buying?" My question is a bit different, and it's got several parts.

1) Are there any discernable price levels where one moves into a class of significantly better bows? Looking around on the internet, I discovered bows sorted like this: above $10,000; $5000-$10,000; $3000-$5000 etc. A thousand dollars/euros/whatever can make a difference, but when?

2) If we can establish something like price classes, what can I expect to find in each of them?

Let's start with that. I know there are quite a few experienced dealers, collectors, and shoppers on here, and I'd be very grateful for any advice!

Replies (20)

January 21, 2008 at 06:35 AM · Megan,

I've owned many bows over the years, up to $10,000. I've had several good French bows, a few English ones, and some cheapo ones. All I can tell you is that bows are not like cars or stereos or

other consumer goods. Whether a bow is good (or good for you) seems to me to be totally unrelated to its price. My favorite bow, long traded away, cost only $800. The $10,000 one I mentioned, a stunningly decorated Bulditude with a gold rose and mint tortoise frog, was absolutely unplayable. A club. The pricing for old bows reflect scarcity, condition, and mystique. The pricing for new bows reflects how much the maker thinks he can get. He wins a competition, he doubles his price. If a famous player has one, he raises the price. It's maddening and confusing, but I doubt the situation will change.