Concertmaster Conundrum

January 21, 2008 at 01:23 AM · Alright, so I'm stuck in kind of an awkward position. I just auditioned for my college orchestra, for which I had to play Tchak 5 excerpts and do a little sight reading. The audition was blind, and was judged by our conductor and violin professor. Well, the results were posted today, and . . . I'm concertmaster. On the one hand, I'm flattered and all that, and willing to step up to the responsibility. However, I feel just a little awkward taking the position. I'm only a freshman. Last semester, I was principle second, and the concertmaster was a senior, and his stand partner, a doctoral student. For this semester, I'm listed as concertmaster, and he is associate. He is certainly capable of the job, and has much more experience than I do. I'm also not the best with sight-reading. I just don't know what to do. Should I just leave things? Or should I talk to him, or to our violin professor, or maybe the conductor?

Replies (30)

January 21, 2008 at 01:30 AM · Greetings,

take the job and do it well. Viewing yourself in relation to others is pointless if experts have already decided they wnat you to do the job.

Cheers,

Buri

January 21, 2008 at 02:19 AM · Freshmen concertmasters unite! BE WARNED: the upperclassmen may well hate you, try to tear you down, slam you, etc...it happened to me and might well to you. Ignore it, they're just bitter. You deserve the spot and should be proud to have earned it.

January 21, 2008 at 02:44 AM · Despite the technical results of the auditions, the conductor could nonetheless have changed his mind about whom he wished to be concertmaster, correct? His decision to go ahead and give you this position reflects his confidence in your abilities. There's nothing to be ashamed of!

January 21, 2008 at 03:28 AM · They posted you as concertmaster for a reason.