Block Fingering or Individual Fingerings for beginners?

January 8, 2008 at 10:42 PM · Adult beginner here, Yep, working on that Twinkle twinkle. Before I found a teacher, I was playing around with it using individual fingering, and going from F# to D is not a problem, but when I have to do block fingering, which my teacher insist I do, I'm like retarded, everytime i play to that point, I need to pause and put all 3 fingers down then continue... am I doing something wrong??

Did you learn block fingering or indivudal??

Replies (36)

January 8, 2008 at 10:45 PM · Greetings,

block fingerings are importnat but three at once can be ambitious. Try working independtly of the music and make up little exercises where you pracitc eputting down two or three fingers together in varied rythm patterns. You can do this work without the bow if you wish. Not much required, just enough for your brain to learn how to communicate with the finfers.

Cheers,

Buri

January 8, 2008 at 11:20 PM · Hi Buri,

Thanks for responding. No wonder it was so hard. My teacher did tell me to try to put first finger down first, then 2nd and 3rd, but this will make my music pause at that point.....

January 9, 2008 at 12:11 AM · My students have special exercises that build their finger strength, flexibility and most importantly "timing". They do what your teacher asked you to do without any major issues. 3 of my students are able to block without any pause and make it so seamless.

When students go downhill on a scale, they have to find ways to block their fingers simultaneously. For example,

when they have to go from G (2nd finger) on E string, to F# (1st finger) on the E string, to Open e string, to D (3rd finger)on the A string, (i.e. like in a scale), they're required to block simultaneously [321] in reverse order on the A string when coming down.

Also, if one is doing an 1 estring F# to 3 a string D, then they are required to treat it like a "double 3rd".