Experience with Joseph Hel

January 6, 2008 at 05:12 AM · I am a professional violinist in search of a master instrument. Does anyone have experience with Joseph Hel? Any assessment of current market prices? I would appreciate your support. Will give you the details of the Hel violins I was offered later.

Replies (10)

January 6, 2008 at 06:56 AM · J. Hel violins can be wonderful instruments. As far as value, it really depends on the example you're holding. Not all violins by any maker are created equal. :-)

January 6, 2008 at 02:33 PM · I almost bought a J. Hel violin about 12 years ago. It was worth at that time 40,000. I'm not sure how that would translate now but it was fine instrument without that nasal quality that is prevlant amongst French fiddles.

January 7, 2008 at 02:01 PM · For what it's worth, that nasal quality is curable, but it takes a bit of $$$$ to do. Most French violins of that period have some construction quirks that once removed make for a much better instrument.

January 8, 2008 at 03:42 PM · I agree with Michael.

If 'tweaked' these French violins really work! The quality of Hel's work is very high and at the price they go for are good value when compared like for like with Modern Italians.......

cheers

Sean

February 14, 2009 at 09:52 AM ·

I've played a Joseph Hel violin for the past 35 years!, as an amateur.  I agree that the sound is a little brutal, although Eudoxa strings help to reduce this.  But it's such a beautifully made instrument (and it was given to me by my old teacher) that I cannot bear to part with it.  My luthier made the comment that, like many French violins, it is made with quite a thick table. He did offer to shave it, but without any guarantee of the result. I declined!