Intonation question for a beginner

January 5, 2008 at 02:02 AM · I'm a bit confused about intonation. What exactly is intonation? I wikipedia it, and it says it's the players ability to recognize pitch accuracy.

I used to play the piano, so I never really came across this term, so please forgive my ignorance. I read on the discussion board that alot of people have alot of problem with intonation. Does this mean you're playing on the wrong tone and not realize it? I'm a bit confused if that's the case, how is that possible??

I'm an absolute beginner in violin, so maybe I'm getting this all wrong. My trouble is, my finger doesn't press down onto the correct position, and I'm out of tune, but I can hear it and therefore move my fingers position accordingly to adjust it, is this what people mean by working on their intonation?

Replies (31)

January 5, 2008 at 02:54 AM · Intonation is putting your finger on a string. To get a desired tone or sound you need to put finger in right location on a given string. The 4

violin strings are (from low to high pitch) G; D;

A; E. If violin is in tune and you bow the G string without touching it (i.e. open) the sound will correspond to that of hitting G key on piano. Slide your finger down the G string a bit and you get same as piano A. You mst remember where to put finger to do so the next time. Now slide down a bit further and you get B; a bit further and you get C. Similarly you can do the

same on D string, A string and E string. Violins are tuned to perfect 5th's. Hope this helps.

January 5, 2008 at 03:25 AM · Yes, it's the player's ability to recognize the accuracy of pitch, but it doesn't end there.

When students say "practice intonation" we mean exactly as you are doing. Place the finger and if it's wrong, correct it.

January 5, 2008 at 04:19 AM · Thanks!!! Well, in that case, I'm quite horrible. :P